Stingy Bees

When I was 23ish, I discovered that I was allergic to bees when a wasp flew down the back of my shirt and proceded to sting me several times. I didn’t know then that you find out if you are allergic to bees on the second sting, and after having been stung once as a child… this terrible occurance would in fact have been Sting #2. 20 minutes after the stinging I was being taken to the hospital where the nurses chided me for not owning an epi pen and not being more careful (how could I when I didn’t know until moments before?).

So I’ve taken great care since then to avoid bees, and their asses.

About a year and a half ago, Sam was stung by a wasp on a walk down the hill (at the old house) and I immediately ran him to the hospital there in South Side. I worried because I was allergic, and it was there that I learned that its the second sting that tells you.

So, I’ve been waiting with dread for the day that Sam gets stung a second time, knowing that it will happen at the most inconvienient of times (when I’d have no car) or I’d be in the most inconvienient place.

I didn’t have to wait for long.

First there was the whole to do when Sam came in screaming that he was stung, and after searching for a sting and not finding one while trying to talk through his tears. We learned later that he was bit by a bumblebee, so no issue there. Yesterday though, he came in screaming that he was stung, we checked where he said it was… and lo and behold he was stung. Luckily, our friend Ben was visiting so he checked the internets for signs and such while I wrangled the screaming crying Sam.

We did discover that Sam is not allergic to bees, yet we did discover something else.

Why.

We discovered why he was getting stung.

Apparently, after a conversation with the Mister about bees and stings, the Mister relayed to Sam about how if Mommy gets stung she has to go to the hospital because the sting could make her really really sick. Since that day, when Sam was outside and saw a bee he would step on it or kill it in some other fashion so they couldn’t sting me… even though I was in the house… because he didn’t want me to go to the hospital.

God bless his little heart… his awesome little bee murdering heart.

7 Comments

  1. Jenn said,

    August 14, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Ugh, some yellowjackets had a hive in the ground in my parent’s front yard and about eight years ago, I ran it over with the lawnmower because none of us knew it was there. I was wearing pants so I didn’t realize I was getting stung (I was all, “wow, I’m kicking up a lot of stuff today…” ) and by the time I figured it out I’d gotten stung like, 20 times. I didn’t react then but I know I can react if I get stung again (no one call tell me for sure, how helpful) so I, too, avoid bees and their asses.

  2. Jenn said,

    August 14, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Ok, I didn’t mean for that smiley face to be there, what the hell?

    -Stephieface: With the gratuitous use of spaces I was able to negate the smiley 🙂

  3. zeeppo said,

    August 15, 2008 at 1:25 am

    I have that i am alergic to them as welll

  4. julie said,

    August 16, 2008 at 12:20 am

    What a sweet little boy you have! Risking himself so that his mommy won’t get stung!!!!

  5. Heather said,

    August 19, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    ohhhh, that is so sweet! That boy deserves extra hugs and kisses for a whole week.

  6. pins&needles said,

    August 20, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Hahahaha! That was too cute!

  7. Stepherz said,

    September 1, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    THAT? Is such a sweet story.

    I loathe bees. But I guess we need them. Dangit.


Leave a Reply

