The Beige Bear Movement

I’m thinking of starting a movement.

Mind you, I’m no revoloutionary or radical- “movement” just sounds right…. far far better than Project or Idea (the Beige Bear Project, the Beige Bear Idea… see?).

Lately, Sam has been feeling a little down in the dumps and a little twitchy. His teachers at school describe him lately as being High Strung. When something goes awry the first thing he says is that he’s a dumb kid, something we have never called him- but he declares all the same. He misbehaves as 5 year olds do, yet sometimes he does it so much that its no longer mischief but a sign.

While at home we refer to the kids as Monkeys… stinky monkeys, silly monkeys.

Then, by complete coincidence I heard this song by Jonathon Coulton and it was then that I had my epiphany about the situation (lyrics below):

My Beige Bear (by Jonathan Coulton)

Taupe mouse, top hat on his head
Thinks he looks so good
Puce cat won’t get off the bed
Even though she should
Indigo monkey’s hiding underneath some other monkeys
Nobody even knows she’s there

My beige bear doesn’t care that he’s old
My beige bear still has four paws to hold
When it’s dark and it’s cold
I reach out for my beige bear

Tan horse, dusty on the shelf
Too breakable to touch
Jade snake, happy by herself
Won’t cuddle very much
Indigo monkey’s making trouble when she should be sleeping
Everyone wants to go to bed

My beige bear doesn’t care that he’s old
My beige bear still has four paws to hold
When it’s dark and it’s cold
I reach out for my beige bear

Beige bear says that some monkeys might just be lonely
Beige bear says that no monkeys WANT to be bad
Beige bear says that some monkeys misbehave only
Because they’re sad…

Mauve dog gets the bed just right
The pillow sinks down deep
Cream cow moos a soft goodnight
Now everyone’s asleep
Indigo monkey’s lying peacefully with arms around her
Next to a wise and kindly bear

My beige bear doesn’t care that he’s old
My beige bear still has four paws to hold
When it’s dark and it’s cold
I reach out for my beige bear

So I’ve decided that Sam is getting his own beige bear, and few extra hugs and kisses. Everybody who needs a little extra love should have a beige bear.

Bubby

Kate (add bear details)

Finger Puppers (to make everyone from the song)

Knitting and sewing patterns for bears

Jess Hutchison Bunny Bear (just do bear ears)

Sewn bear (w/ fur!)

The Yankee Doodle Bear

Mohair Teddy Bear

Pumpkin Teddy Bear

2 Comments

  1. Stepherz said,

    April 5, 2008 at 1:03 am

    Yes, a beige bear sounds wonderful! Sweet little Sam, hugs and kisses make everyone feel better. I hope he feels better soon. Bella gets the blues sometimes too. Sunshine and lots of love are good for the soul…

  2. Silver Ilix said,

    April 5, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    That is a great idea! I bet it will do the trick, along with hugs and kisses!


Leave a Reply

