Can’t You Spare A Square?

I’ve been working on my square for the Pratchghan 2008, and although its nothing but a wee 6in by 6in square that I can do whatever I like with…. the task has been daunting. Just so you know, knitting an explosion is difficult (I’ve already redone it 3 times now, and still no luck)… you shall know no more than that! The idea was concocted by Ben, and it is an awesome idea- its just the execution that I am finding difficult.

By the way, I may start a dating service. Why? Here in Stephieface land I have mostly (okay… all) guy friends, the internets is really the only way that I know that other girls exist. I am asked constantly to fix my guy friends up, and I’d love to… if there were girls I knew somewhere. So ladies, if you are looking to meet up with a History major that currently attends Pitt, and can translate and conjugate latin, who likes most of the same things I do, and appreciates the value of a knitted rat… let me know (bonus, he likes kids enough to still want to come over to my house after having met my children [and having dealt with me throughout all of my pregnancies]… and he’ll hold babies….. willingly…. and not at arm’s length).

In other news, we’re still looking around for a new house.- trying to find one that is well within our price range. We’re still packing stuff that is not currently needed (like culottes and sprinklers) but we’ve run out of boxes. I discovered earlier this week that to get boxes from one Walmart I’d have to loom inside their store for a few hours, stalking the employess as they stock the shelves, then when they least expect it I’d have to snatch the box away and disappear with my now ill gotten gains. I am exaggerating slightly, it is that way but with less snatching and more maniacal laughter. Apparently they destroy the cardbox boxes immediately after emptying them. I thought that perhaps, like my old place of employ, they stacked them up in a bin until later in the evening when they would be crushed then….. and until then sat there unfolded in a chaotic stack. If any Pittsburghers reading this know of a secret awesome super ninja store that has an insane collection of cardboard boxes that I can have for free without having to stalk anyone- please let me know in the comments!

8 Comments

  1. Jenn said,

    January 4, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Next time I’m in the Bridgeville/Scott Twp Wal-mart and see someone swiping boxes and running, I’ll be sure to say hi! 😉 When we moved a couple of years ago, we boxes from liquor stores. They’re not big, though, we used them mostly for packing dishes and kitchen stuff.

  2. Tracy said,

    January 5, 2008 at 1:00 am

    I always get boxes from the grocery store. They usually crush them immediately too, but I’ve had good luck by asking the Mgr. when they’ll be stocking the shelves then once around the store telling the stockers I’m there waiting for the boxes and they pile them up for me. You’ll get the bigger boxes from the cereal and cake mixes, can goods and paper products usually use only flats with plastic wrap.

  3. Laural said,

    January 5, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Yeah Wal-Mart crushes and recycles the boxes pretty quickly. About the only way to get some is to know someone that works there. I’d get DH to hook you up with some but you don’t live in Indiana. Is there a non-private university near you? The spring semester should be about to start and the campus bookstores are getting crap tons of books and they usually have nice boxes. They aren’t very large but they’re still boxes. That’s where we got most of our boxes when we moved.

    Thanks for your foot post. Besides getting to see your super awesome socks I liked your shoes so much that I just ordered a pair in black.

  4. pins&needles said,

    January 7, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    A good place for boxes is Barnes and Noble. Some locations don’t have those fancy box crushers and they just break them down first and throw them out later. If you catch them in the mornings, they’ll have something.

  5. marit fp said,

    January 7, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    when I moved last we got a bunch of boxes from Uhaul that were pretty cheap…and sometimes the Post Office (heh, tried to type offler) will let you have the boxes that their shipping supplies come in, although they’re often awkwardly shaped.

    I hear ya on the pratchgan difficulties!

  6. Heather said,

    January 8, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    The state store… they have nice sturdy liquor boxes and they leave them on the loading dock and you just take ’em. My MIL moved last year and we teased her about being a lush. 🙂 I am thinking specifically of the one near the South Hills Village, but I am sure which ever one is closest to you is the same, just ask where they put them for you.

  7. kierakrafts said,

    January 11, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Subway’s have a rediculous amount of boxes too. most are decently sized and don’t end up with food crap all over them.

  8. bookstorebabe said,

    January 22, 2008 at 8:28 am

    I’m nowhere near you,but I heartily second going to any bookstore.People ask us for boxes all the time.They’re not too large,but very sturdy-you know how heavy books are! Most unpacking is done before 5:00-fewer staff and more customers in the evening.We have a local pottery who takes away our boxes,(and gifts us with a mug each time),we save some for returns,and we still have an insane amount of cardboard that gets tossed.


Leave a Reply

