When Okay Boyfriends Go Baaaaaaad

If you are a crafter, especially a crafter on a tight wad budget, you have more like than not visited Walmart for your supplies. Outside of KnitPicks and yarn farming recycled sweaters, the only other place I routinely got yarn was Walmart(we’re talking Peaches & Creme, and Bernat Softee Chunky usually). Walmart was, without a doubt, the absoloute only place I bought fabric from. Even JoAnn’s pitiful 40% off coupon wasn’t awesome enough to lure my butt into any other craft store.

But then Walmart, like an “okay” boyfriend, went very very bad. No doubt you may have had an “okay” boyfriend… someone who was nice enough, and cute enough, but may just not have been bad boy enough, or romantic enough, or exciting enough,  or whatever enough…… he was just “okay”.

Then one day he does something completely jacked.. like shave your cat because he’s allergic, buy you G-strings because your granny panties aren’t cutting it and he really liked it when his ex wore them, or insults all of your friends so that they don’t want to come around anymore…. a complete out of blue jacking. That is what Walmart has just done to me. It got rid of all its fabric, and eighthed its yarn selection…. and if that wasn’t enough it haphazardly merged its weaksauce craft department with the party supplies and office supplies. By haphazard I mean that one row is  yarn/thread/needles/sewing notions and the next is envelopes and pens, then the next row is beads and camp craft project supplies, followed by a row of posters and pinatas. Walmart, how could you do such a thing?

So, Walmart is no longer my craft mecca, but Walmart and I did have a crafty ‘our relationship is over bootie call’ ……

lastwalmartbootiecall-002.jpg

Red Heart Yarn in (from L to R) Earth and Sky, Lipstick, and Monet.

In other news, I received my blessed by Terry Pratchett’s creative touch socks from Fyberduck this weekend…. pictures will be forthcoming.

I also watched a very unique movie this weekend called Night Watch, which I only just discovered today is the second movie. Now I have to find and watch the first.  First, its in Russian so you’ll have to try and find a dubbed version. Second, now that I know there is a first movie (and even books) the bajillionty questions I have can be answered. Third, Russian movies are awesome and wierd all at the same time (a vampire/dark one sucks out your energy by means of a juice box…. I can never now drink a juice box without thinking about that).

7 Comments

  1. Jenn said,

    November 5, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    They dropped their fabric section? I’ll have to check it out the next time I’m there. Did you try more than one?

  2. Donna said,

    November 5, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    It’s everywhere Jen…in both Walmarts out where I live in California as well….I was very disappointed. That’s where I got all my fabric and yarn, and can we have a moment of silence for the $1 a yard fabric display? I am sad..very very sad. Yarn and Fiber Company and KnitPicks will most likely get my yarn biz from now on…been having very crappy luck lately with yarn farming at the thrift stores…gah.

    OH, and I too bought some “it’s been nice” Peaches and Cream this weekend…and some more cheap bamboo needles…the last ones left…seems they are fading them out as well…sigh.

  3. Clare said,

    November 6, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Thanks for your lovely post – your blog is great! I have never tried recycling sweater yarn (except for ripping back ones I have already knit) but your Calomitery cowl had me in stitches! Thanks again – and good luck!

  4. pins&needles said,

    November 6, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Fabric section gone?! That’s pretty absurd. Walmart is usually my fall back craft place just in case if the craft stores are a bit pricey for things that shouldn’t be.

  5. Martha said,

    November 8, 2007 at 4:40 am

    Hi there! I just came across your blog by way of links, links, and more links…okay maybe just one link. I loved your story about locking yourself out of your car. Very funny.
    I wanted to comment on the Walmart post. I was just in Walmart this afternoon and noticed many of their yarns went to clearance. I’m hoping it’s because the packaging is changing or new colors are coming in, which usually means a price increase too, but they still have the fabric. I really hope they don’t get rid of it like your Walmart has done. I’ll ask them tomorrow to find out if this is going to happen here too. Thanks for the info. Keep up the humor. 🙂

  6. jenica said,

    November 8, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    i live in a land of walmart abundance. we have three close enough to chose which one we want to go to: scary walmart (the closest), ghetto walmart (just a neighborhood walmart that we typically only use in the month of december to avoid annoying christmas shoppers), or happy walmart which is up the hill and plentifully stocked. i haven’t seen them shutting down any of their crafty sections, but i do live in utah…crap-craft capitol of the world… i’m so sorry that they’ve nixed yours! that truly is just terrible! rest in peace lovely craft section of walmart.

  7. Stepherz said,

    November 9, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    Yeah, WalMart made me mad in the fabric area too. Only there’s no where else to buy fabric in this here tiny town. So, we all are sewing with the same 4 fabrics. I think I’m going to start gettig some fabrics on eBay. You can find just about anything there. I made Bella a quilt with frog princes on it and found a huge selection on eBay. I’m sounding like a spokesperson now. I write too many reviews, now I can’t talk without sounding like a walking review.

    I think I’m in love with the lipstick yarn you have. I’m such a sucker for red!

    This post was hilarious too– I was rolling!


Leave a Reply

