She Works Hard For The Ummmmmmm…..

So, I finished my Discworld swap package and sent it off earlier this week- to which my partner received yesterday. So now I can debut what it was I was working on……..

First….. A Samuel Vimes’ badge tote bag with the all important (at least to dwarves) honor of “Blackboard Monitor”…..

fallingforpratchettswp2007oct-001.jpg

fallingforpratchettswp2007oct-002.jpg

Free hand painted on a black tote. Acrylics and Textile Medium.

Next up, I sent my partner stripey knitted socks with the DEATH of Rats skull and crossbones duplicate stitched on….

oct192007-001.jpg

oct192007-002.jpg

I used KnitPicks Wool of the Andes in Heathered Amethyst and Iris. The D.o.R is duplicate stitched on with embroidery floss. The socks are sized for US women’s 8.5, and I used almost all of both skeins… I had a wee bit left over to send along to my partner for darning when she needs it.

And now, the project that was making me crazy, certifiable, nutso, ‘touched’. I sent my partner her very own Swamp Dragon. The difference being that this swamp dragon was improved upon by an Igor and has a zipper in the belly. I was able to stuff him with 2 decks of cards, a small notebook, a little plastic skeleton that jiggles when you pull the string, and a pair of plastic glasses with the fake nose and mustache on…..

fallingforpratchettswp2007oct-005.jpg

fallingforpratchettswp2007oct-007.jpg

And a picture of him stuffed with the aforementioned items;

fallingforpratchettswp2007oct-008.jpg

He was made with worsted weight Yarn from my stash from a recycled sweater, a 7″ zipper, and was my first experience with plastic toy eyes. When I started Flynn (that’s his name, he’s cousins with Errol) the head initially began as his body. However, when I knitted so far I discovered his body was head shaped… not body shaped… so then Flynn quadrupled in size when I realized I now had to make a body to go with the now head. Here you can see part of my madness…..

sheworkshardfortheummmm-004.jpg

Its a crap picture, but I had 8 pages of notes, college ruled madness. But he’s done….. and the pattern for him is located to the right there. I wonder what I can make next?

5 Comments

  1. jenica said,

    November 2, 2007 at 3:36 am

    i can’t get that song by the beastie boys, *she’s crafty,* out of my head after reading this post. you are seriously crafty woman!

  2. Donna's Honey said,

    November 2, 2007 at 6:07 am

    Errol’s cousin! He looks soooooo cool – the colours are just like Josh Kirby’s pix on the cover of the UK books.

    Now can you do the Luggage? with lots of little legs? Please, please pretty please?

    Truly wonderful!

  3. fyberduck said,

    November 3, 2007 at 3:32 am

    I ❤ Flynn!!

  4. Stepherz said,

    November 5, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    You are awesome– I LOVE the dragon!

  5. bookstorebabe said,

    January 22, 2008 at 9:07 am

    Flynn is totally awesome-he lives perched on the top of my wardrobe.His new job is dice holder-much better than the traditional crown royal bag,hmm? I’ve been tempted to attach a strap to his neck and tail to tote him about like a purse,but I think I’ll leave him to his lofty perch-it’s fun seeing him up there.


Leave a Reply

