I Use Baby Socks As A Palet Cleanser

I’m still working on my big Discworld swap object, but as I’ve stated in the last couple of posts its making me a tad loopy. This always happens when I’m writing a pattern as I’m making something. Its mainly because the going is so slow and I’m an Instant Gratification kind if girl. This is why I have yet to knit a sweater for myself… sweaters are not instant. Sweaters can’t be done in a day or two, while I’m doing housework and fending off the Flying Diaperinis.

So, when I need a break from the project, I start knitting baby socks to keep myself sane….

babybloodmoonsocks2007october-001.jpg

This is fortunate because of all the babies there are around. My cousin Peggy just had her first baby, a little girl, this past weekend. My SIL is due to have her third in December. The Mister’s Cousin’s Wife (I always feel like that scene in Spaceballs when I describe some people’s relation to me……..”I am your father’s brother’s nephew’s cousin’s former roommate”) is having a baby shower here soonishly. Being knocked up is in fashion I guess… Ha! I was cool before it was cool!Anyways that wee little sock up there (after I finish its mate today) will be heading off to the baby shower (with four kids of my own, money isn’t flying off the trees to buy other people baby stuff…. especially baby stuff nicer than my own baby’s stuff). I used the Ali’s Baby Sockies pattern with the yarn I used for my Blood Moon Socks. The only modification I did was to kitchener the toe instead of “drawstringing” it.

So…. I have a question… or rather what is your opinion……

If your Mister, boyfriend, partner, etc asked you to dye your hair a specific color and offhandedly mentioned buying colored contacts…. how would you feel and would you do it?

6 Comments

  1. Donna said,

    October 22, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    First of all, I would be amazed that a guy would notice my haircolor and eye color. Someone that close, I’d wonder why *they* wanted the change and then tell them no, not gonna do it unless i wanted to…all the while thinking of how i could get them to look more like Gerard Butler…

  2. Laural said,

    October 22, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    I’d say sure as long as you loose 20lbs., dye your hair and start speaking in a sexy accent at all times.

  3. fyberduck said,

    October 23, 2007 at 4:13 am

    I agree with Laural. “You first” always works ;D

  4. Annchen said,

    October 23, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    Um… I’d probably be pretty upset depending on the way it was worded. If I told him to do it first it wouldn’t happen since he can’t wear contacts (sensitive eyes) and decided he didn’t want to dye his hair anymore after the green and pink skunk hairdo he had years ago.

    Speaking of Discworld… I just wanted to thank you for the DoR pattern. Here’s my little guy:

    Death of Rats

    Still naked since I’m too lazy to finish his robe. I made some minor changes and I also made another rodent influenced by that pattern. Thanks for giving me the courage to try knitting stuffed animals!

  5. Stepherz said,

    October 23, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    I guess it would depend on how he asked me. But I think I would… First, because my old man has fabulous taste and is more daring than I. If I can spice things up for him with a hair color change, I don’t mind doing it.

    So maybe the hair color change would be a great one and you might love it. You never know. But I probably wouldn’t change my eye color because I think color contacts can be spooky looking. Hair color is something that is pretty mastered. I mean, they have some great dyes out there that won’t damage, so you can always go back to the original color if you don’t like it. But the contacts are expensive and I don’t think they are as natural looking as they will be in another 10 years. I tried blond a few years ago because Jeremy suggested I try it. I haven’t gone back since. I guess I prefer it blond now. 🙂

    I did got to beauty school for awhile though. Maybe I’m biased.

  6. Sachi said,

    November 5, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    (Catching up on bloglines again.) I wouldn’t think anything until I knew his motives.


Leave a Reply

