Like a Virgin…… Socks For The Very First Time (again)

So, first things first….This is my current progress of my International Socks of Doom. I wasn’t able to start them until Saturday when I was able to go out to the van and reclaim my knitting stuff from the trunk. I knit on them for about 2 hours, the rest was done at the laundry mat yesterday. I must have looked strange and amusing at the laundromat because of the awkwardness with which I picked up the stitches for the gusset. Oh well…. just one more thing to make me embarassed about Virgin Sock Voyage v2.0. The first being how I made a complete fool of myself on a knitting forum.
See, I printed the pattern straight from Sweater Project. Now, the issue is actually nothing more than the font that was used. When reaching the heel flap I looked at the pattern and I read “S11″… you know, Slip 11 stitches. As odd as that sounded, I trucked it up to my unfamiliarity with sock knitting in general. However I was struck with a dilemma…. if I was to slip 11 stitches that would leave a mighty long traveling yarn across the back, so…… do I weave that inbetween the stitches? do I leave it as is? So I turned to the Craftster knitting forum to find out.
After the first reply, I discovered much to my chagrin that the pattern said “Sl1” as in ‘Slip 1’…. not “S11” as I had read before. I could have avoided the embarassing stupid question asking if I had merely changed the font. Doh!
I am digging the yarn immensely though, its a merino that I received from SerialCrafter in a Discworld swapits hand dyed by SerialCrafter. Ah, I still remember how awesomely she spoiled me. I’m always a sucker for yarn and stitch markers. If Gerard Butler ever owns his own yarn shop… the Mister may be in trouble.

3 Comments

  1. sunneshine said,

    August 27, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    LOL, wish that I could say I had never done anything like that… The yarn is knitting beautifully! And my hats off to you, finding bits of knitting time with a new born!

  2. Sachi said,

    August 28, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Welcome to the dark side. Mwahahaha!

  3. Stepherz said,

    August 28, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    Gerard is yummm. The yarn is a pretty nice too.


Leave a Reply

