While Beans Tap Dances A Fandango On My Rib Cage…

Lately, I’ve really been feeling the efforts of Beans trying to escape his uterine prison as if he were a ‘Gutbuster’ from Alien…. or as if he’s doing an impression of that “Happy Feet” guy, Savion Glover, tap dancing on my rib cage and spleen.

His new little movement attitude makes doing things, like knitting, a wee bit interesting. Imagine working on a baby sweater only to have your breath kicked out of you by an internal tennant (if you click any links… click that one) who then procedes to use your insides as his own personal little Tai Bo training camp. I could only sit and hang on for dear life to the couch arm as he practiced maneuvers like:

  • The Mommy Rib Rapid Kicks
  • The Mommy Bladder Rabbit Punches
  • And my personal favorite, the Steve Irwin Crocodile Death Roll

I’m pretty sure the faces I made were eerily similar to the faces I could have been making putting myself in this situation…. you know, if you get my strangely vague meaning.

Despite his ninja attempts, I did finish the sweater I was working on for SIL #2 who’s baby shower is up next. I tried the Quickie Baby Sweater again. I don’t know that I was able to finish again in the 5 hours its supposed to take- I do know that it went much much faster this time…. most likely due to having already made the pattern once before and this time having my Knit Picks Options set. Let me tell you, those end plugs and being able to disconnect the cord from the needles are awesome… just awesome. I did some changes this time (just like last time). I used size US12 needles instead of the 10.5 it calls for. Once again I used Bernat’s Softee Chunky, this time in Med Sea Green (1.33 skeins). It turned out a little bigger than I expected, but for a baby being born in June I think it will fit just fine come Fall.Only thing is now I’m debating if I should add a hood or not. Adding a hood is relatively easy, you just pick up stitches around the collar and knit up in the pattern the stockinette portion of the sweater is done in (row1: knit, row2: k3, purl to last 3 stitches, k3) for however long, bind off, then fold in half and sew along the bind off edge to make the hood… easy peasy.
BUT
Should I add a hood? Would it detract? Would it be too much? Would it be just fine? Opinions?

5 Comments

  1. Jenn said,

    April 20, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    I think it’s lovely without the hood, but you could maybe make a hat to match…not as easy, but definitely cute!

  2. ~Donna~ said,

    April 21, 2007 at 1:19 am

    I think it looks fine as is…

    I sympathize with the Bean’s movements.

    My Junebug decided to play soccer in my belly.

    And oh yes, damn straight we had the death roll…totally fascinated all the single guys I worked with…

  3. Fyberduck said,

    April 21, 2007 at 1:29 am

    I’m in the minority, but I think a hood would be adorable.

  4. Stepherz said,

    April 22, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    I love the sweater just as it is. Could you knit a matching cap? Now that would be super cute, and more comfortable, I think. Although I boycott hoods because I just don’t like how restricted I feel in them.

    Gosh you’re talented! The sweater is amazing!

  5. Zeeppo said,

    April 24, 2007 at 1:08 am

    That whole gutbuster alien thing is reason number three why I am happy to be male


Leave a Reply

