The Biggest Dishcloth In The World! Finally Finished!

So I finally finished the Biggest Dishcloth in the World which is meant as a baby blanket for my SIL who is ready to pop with her first baby. She was supposed to receive it Saturday, but due to circumstances beyond my control it has to be late. The blanket is only 2 days late… its not like a Sam pregnancy (2 weeks late) or a Mister pregnancy (MIL was pregnant with him a whole extra month… 4 weeks late). As far as Conleys are concerned… I could be considered early.

Here it is:
I posted this on Craftster as well, calling it the Purple Ducky Blanket. Yes I know it is not purple, nor does it have any duckies. The dishcloth patterns (dragonfly, frog, and heart) all came from the Purple Duckie site and then were sewn together. The blank block I just winged. Its not blocked, I’m more concerned with getting it to her than presentation. Its 100% cotton in a natural ecru color, natural ecru being the color I could closely approximate as being the same as baby spit up so the stains would blend. Its not huge though, its on the smallish side (small but useable). In any case she received a bunch of huge blankets on Saturday so I don’t think she’ll count it as a loss….. like guys always say, ‘its not the size that matters’.
I did give her the black baby Diaper Bag Sweater I made a while ago, so I wasn’t empty handed. I would have had the blanket done before Saturday had not a few things occured…

  1. Whenever I went to my inlaws’ to do laundry, knowing I would have hours to dedicate to the blanket’s knitting…. she would be there… hanging out…. every single time. I should have just knitted it right in front of her and lied about what it was… but I wanted it to be a surprise.
  2. Having one block left to knit, I could almost assure myself of the blanket’s completion… until of course , the Flying Diaperinis take off with a finished block so instead of finishing one block I have to make two.

Now I only have what, 4 people left to knit for? jeez…………….

3 Comments

  1. Fyberduck said,

    April 2, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Yay! It’s really cute, too ^_^

  2. pins&needles said,

    April 3, 2007 at 9:29 am

    That gigantic dishcloth/baby blanket is really cool!

  3. Stepherz said,

    April 4, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    It turned out fabulous! (I knew it would!)


Leave a Reply

