Happy Birthday To Me

So, yesterday (okay, still today as its not midnight for another 40 minutes) was my 31st birthday. I can honestly say I never expected to make it past 20 (once, I never expected to live past 14 when my dad pissed off some bikers and one jumped on the hood of our car and was punching at our windshield), and yet- here I am.

The day itself was pretty tame as far as birthdays go. I didn’t go anywhere, and I didn’t do anything. I basically spent the day as I have spent countless days for the last 4 years or so. There were some minor exceptions to special it up……

At the butt crack of morning, my doorbell was ringing nonstop. As much as I love answering the door in my jammies, I was so happy to see a package just for me…. a Happy Birthday package from my sister:She sent me along a bunch of needles I do not have (mmmmmmm 10 inchers) and the Unjinxing Blankie that she made herself.

See, its her theory that since my Mother In Law gave me a buttload of girl stuff the day before my sonogram that it jinxed Beans into being a boy. So to counterattack the jinx she made a blue blankie (under the conditions that if it works and Beans turns into a girl I can give it to one of the other boys, if not- hey at least I already have one gender appropriate blankie). If it actually works, I’ll begin plaguing my expectant friends with gender nuetral blankies to see the outcome like an evil knitting mad scientist. And, a better pic of my sister’s craftiwork:As you can see, when long ago I mentioned that my sister and I are like night and day- its true. I am a knitter, and she is a crocheter. This may explain why we fought so much as kids.

This is how I know my family loves me….. my parents gave me a little bit of spending cash (weeee… I can still get birthday money….yay!) to spend towards yarn or needles or whatever is my heart’s content. I ordered a bunch of things (man, I can make a small amount of cash s t r e t c h) and now I just await their arrival….

I got a Learn To Spin Kit off of eBay (with a description of the sheep who’s wool is included… his name is Oreo… I am pregnant… is was a match made in Heaven I tell you…mmmmm oreos)

And then, for my Yarn Farming Empire, I got an Ash WPI (Wraps Per Inch) Gauge off of Etsy:

And a swift, also from eBay, which is super sweet and super adjustable with multiple peg holes for multiple skein sizes…. AND its collapsable for easy storage…My kids are gonna really love this, but they better not touch it by God.

And then the Mister….. the Mister who for years has tried to skim around my birthday… brought me home a DVD called Celtic Woman which I watched alot when they were airing it on PBSI’m just happy that he remembered this year. You go honey, this year hopefully I can get you a little something (Beans).

As you can see, I’m once again preparing for World War 3 or the Revoloution or whatever you want to call it. It is my firm belief that knitters and spinners will be the saviors of the future.

But those tech guys? Those tech guys are done for (unless we are overrun by machines a la the Matrix).

9 Comments

  1. ImpulsiveKnitter said,

    March 6, 2007 at 2:28 am

    Happy Birthday and at the same Congratulations on your pregnancy.
    I tend to agree with you about the whole world war 3 thing lol.
    I think old skills like this will be needed one day.

  2. ~Donna~ said,

    March 6, 2007 at 2:58 am

    Happy B-day! Hey, it’s still Monday in Cali…

    You sure got a lot of cool stuff!

  3. Fyberduck said,

    March 6, 2007 at 5:15 am

    Happy Birthday! Eh, we’ll always be cooler than the tech guys, because we can make socks. Even the Zion guys in the Matrix needed socks ^_^

  4. pins&needles said,

    March 6, 2007 at 10:40 am

    Happy Birthday! I didn’t know you were a Pisces woman too! My birthday is the day after yours.

  5. Kelley said,

    March 6, 2007 at 11:33 am

    Happy Birthday!

    When WWIII comes, I’ll be in trouble. Do you think cross stitching is a survival skill? 😉

  6. Donna said,

    March 6, 2007 at 11:59 am

    Happy Birthday!

  7. sunneshine said,

    March 6, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Happy late birthday!!

    You did really well with that birthday $$!!

  8. Stepherz said,

    March 6, 2007 at 6:10 pm

    You make me laugh! You’re getting funnier in you old age, eh?

    I crocheted a blanket almost exactly like that when I was preggers with my 12 year old! I mean, the colors and everything! Your sister must be a pretty awesome chick to have such great taste and creativity.

    Happy birthday! Sounds like it was a good one!

  9. Stephieface said,

    March 6, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    Fyberduck- there were no knitters in Zion in the Matrix movies… this is evidenced by the fact that every single person was wearing holey sweaters. No knitter I know would let that be.

    Kelley- yes, cross stitching can be a survival skill. Someone has to be able to make the flags a la betsy ross.

    Stepherz- My sis is awesome… I like to think she aged well like a fine wine. Do you know what yarn she used? Bernat!


Leave a Reply

