When We LARPed, My Mister Was Crafty

Here’s a quickie link to Acme Notions, go there if you like vintage notions for needlecrafts, patterns from the 50’s, and whatnot (seriously, check em out).

_______________________________________________

There was a time when the Mister and I did this thing called Live Action Roleplaying or LARPing. We did it for a long while, stopping only really last year (do you know how hard it is to find child care for 3 kids for a whole weekend… epsecially when they are nicknamed the Flying Diaperini Brothers?). And, although I really miss dressing up in fantastic costumes (mine were never ever lame… take a peek), what I really miss is how crafty my Mister used to be then. He used to build and construct. Heck, he even used to help me with medieval-y sewing projects (he pinned, starched, and ironed…. do you have any questions now as to why I married him?).

Yet now, as our weekends are more laid back and home based, I miss how creative he was when he wasn’t sitting in front of the computer playing World of Warcraft (WoW). Here is a stenciled tshirt from Craftster that sums up how I feel:As with many other wives across the world, I consider myself a W.o.W…. Widow Of Warcraft.
In all seriousness, the Mister is extremely creative and connecting with him on a crafty project was awesome. It made me feel overwhelmingly giddy when we completed a project as a couple…. like the safe yellow fever free home edition of the Amazing Race.

There are people that say (I am friends with some of them and this is what they say to me) I can have that again with the Mister, I just have to play the video game with him. Its hard to explain to these people that playing a video game is not creative- making, designing, and creating one, yes- playing one, noooooo. They liken and compare my knitting to playing WoW… its the same they say, sitting and just doing something (I know I just heard the insane intake of breath by all the knitters who read this). There is a difference though- when I knit I am creating something myself, when he plays WoW he is playing grown up Mario Brothers moving his little guy around the screen. Yes we both may be sitting, but it is very very different. I can knit anywhere, while the Mister is tethered to a PC. My knitting can warm you on a cold day, my Mister might be able to warm his hands by the computer’s CPU fan if he’s been playing long enough and the room is cold. I have something to physically show for the amount of time I put into knitting a project, he has numbers on a screen to show for the amount of time he puts into playing it. However, we both find our exploits relaxing…….. and we both will yell occasionally in frustration at our relaxing exploits.

While this has turned into half a rant really as to how much I dislike WoW (see? honesty.), the point is its not the same. My sitting and feigning interest in little computerized people is nowhere near the same as the two of us working side by side to craftily create something that people will remember or that beautifies.

I know its silly to long after the person our mate used to be, but I totally think its okay to miss them.

______________________________________________

On to other notes……. My appointment is on Monday- 10am to be exact. So from 9:30am to 10:30am… send me lots of girl vibes- maybe by the sheer force of collective will we can insure Beans is a girl. Its kind of funny, I’m starting to get nervous as though it were an English exam or something… how does one study for an ultrasound?

On the diaper bag note, kelley noted that my choice was very chic. I thank you very much! If you didn’t catch it in the comments… my theory on diaper bags is thus:

You will carry that diaper bag more than you have carried any treasured purse you have ever owned in your entire life. And lo, you may be forced to sherpa around half the baby’s belongings due to your newfound parental obligations- why must you be forced to carry a bag covered in frolicking bunnies?

Its one thing if those bunnies are (ahem) frolicking and you are carrying that bag about proudly for the shock value. Its something else if those bunnies are (gag) playing with baby ducks and teddy bears by rainbows with unicorns and there are wings involved in there somehow. I see nothing wrong with any of those things really, I just stopped being 12 ooohhhhh 18 years ago…. so why should I saddle myself with a teddybear bag now that I’m 30? Oh, and god help you if its quilted… god… help… you. Men do not carry the diaper bags for a reason… its the freaking happy fluffy bunnies & teddybears and I totally agree with them.If you listen hard enough, you can hear me gagging. Any of the ones here will do, or do a Google image search for Diaper Bags (beware though some HFB [happy fluffy bunny] Bags lurk amongst the pictures).

There is also another Terry Pratchett Discworld swap in the mix- if you are a Craftster member come join in. If you are not a Craftster member, sign up so you can join in the next go round. You know you want to.

5 Comments

  1. Stepherz said,

    February 10, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    You looked fantastic in your costumes! One hot medieval momma! I wish we had something like the medieval fairs here, although I can relate to the childcare predicament.

    Ok, the vibes are sent. I’m checking in all day Monday.

    Also, I’m a Widow of Warcraft too. And also the new Lord of the Rings, Battle of Middle-earth II for xBox 360. Apparently it is alot like Warcraft in gameplay and in its ability to steal husbands.

    He says I’m having an affair with my blog. So I guess we’re even…

  2. Keppy said,

    February 10, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    LOL I’m an FFXI widow 🙂

    I used to play too, but I quit… Now the crack errr FFXI still has a hold on dh….

  3. ~Donna~ said,

    February 10, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    LOVE your costumes. And I agree about the tinkle and clank on the hips. Why do you think I belly dance? hee hee

    I have a ren faire corset costume too – absolutely love it. The one time my boobs earn their keep – hahaha…

  4. Fyberduck said,

    February 12, 2007 at 3:24 am

    WOW needs to be declared an addictive substance by the FDA.

    Hey, maybe you can get a Discworld themed diaper bag (which could be converted to a knitting bag, or somesuch, laters) in the swap…

  5. pinsandneedles said,

    February 12, 2007 at 12:07 pm

    WOW has taken many people from me (one is my best friend, but she’s nice enough to stop when I call her). The boyfriend and roommate has been taken over by FF12 and Gears of War (there are much much more, but we’d be here all day). So I’m just a widow of video games period.

    Your bag is very chic! I laugh at men who have to carry cutsie looking diaper bags. I would never subject a man to appear in public like that. You might as well give the man a plastic bag from the grocery store, because he’d probably appreciate that more.


Leave a Reply

