Legos Are Really Just Kid Friendly Caltrops

On Sam’s birthday last October, The Mister bought Sam this ginormous box of regular average sized legos (this was of course before we found out about Beans), the box being ginormous, not the legos. Every day since, I question my decision to walk about my home without shoes. Why? Because, as if my children were little pull-up festooned ninjas, the smallest of the lego pieces are left about like caltrops for me to step on. Especially if it is night, and if I am on my way to bed without my contacts in.

I’ve finally returned to the Seed Stitch Nightmare known as the Diaper Bag Sweater, having finally procured the second ball of yarn the pattern waits until halfway through to tell you that you need. Sure, its says it needs 3 skeins of Laine Borgesia dal 1850 (which you can find nowhere- ETA 3/27/08: that is because this yarn is discontinued), but it waits until you’re committed to mention multiple balls. So as mentioned here, the Mister offered to go to Walmart to procure more of the needed yarn- they were out, both times he checked. I’m not sure why there was a sudden run on black Bernat Softee Chunky at the non super Walmart on his way home from work, but there you go. I finally went and did it myself at a Super Walmart. He did try though. Here are my progress pics so far, I’m on the hood….Yup… lots and lots of seed stitch. The front bit is a bit too open though. The pattern calls for little i-cord ties by the base of the hood, but I feel “eh” about that. When I finish the hood and the weaving in of ends, I may consider adding a button band to the front to close up that open bit- and I like buttons more than I like i-cording.

Also, while at the super Walmart, I was able to score a skein of Bernat’s CottonTots on clearance for a mere $2. It was the only non fun fur/non eyelash yarn in the clearance bin there. The colorway is called Verry Berry. (sorry for the crappy pic, it was the only way to get the colors semi-accurate, the pink is still too dark in this pic [but everything else is on-weird])Isn’t it awesomely pretty? The Mister says I should quit hedging my bets that Beans is a girl until we find out for sure in two weeks. He doesn’t want me to be dissapointed if she turns out to be a he. The Flying Diaperini Brothers have also expressed an interest in “coming with” to the appointment. I sat down with them and told them what would happen, showing them videos of what they would see on the “TV” at the doctor’s- and what they would see the doctor doing to me. By the way, this explaination usually is described as the doctor rubbing the TV remote on my belly covered in daddy’s hair gel…. you gotta use what your kids know. So far they seem pretty stoked about going, I’m just not sure if I can handle dragging the circus in there with me…. wait… let me rephrase that… I’m not sure the docs can handle me dragging the circus in there with me. I mean, seriously, the aren’t the Flying Diaperinis for nothing.

6 Comments

  1. ~Donna~ said,

    January 29, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    OK, now blogger is giving me shit about commenting. Buggers!

    Anyway, I hear ya on the legos. Can’t tell you how many times I’ve been caught in that particular booby trap.

    Gonna go see Gerard in “300”? I am soooo there!

  2. Stephieface said,

    January 29, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    Hell yeah!

    I mean.. um yes… I even convinced the Mister that it was his idea

  3. ~Donna~ said,

    January 30, 2007 at 3:18 am

    I have the Love Issue, email me, lets talk about hookin’ you up.

  4. sunneshine said,

    January 30, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    I realize that its a pain, but the black sweater is awfully cute!!

  5. Donna said,

    January 30, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    My husband collects legos, so we have thousands of them. Thank goodness he does not leave them on the floor or he might have to collect something else.

  6. Stepherz said,

    January 30, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    I love the yarn you found on discount. So lovely! It looks unbelievably “girlish”, perfect for a soft, new, sweet baby “girl”. A-hem. (Trying to send some girly joo-joo.)

    Also, the sweater is divine, Steph. I want one just like it, only about 75 times the size.

    I know the Lego dance all to well. They hurt. Wear slippers!

    Lastly, I hate Blogger. It makes me enter the darn word verification 300 times before it posts. Grrrrr!


Leave a Reply

