Oh Nooooooos! I’ve Become An Old Cartoon Cliche!

If you are under 21, you can stop reading now and skip down because you will most likely have no idea what I am talking about next- not being mean, just saying….

When we were younger, do you remember watching the Bugs Bunny/Chuck Jones cartoons? Where whenever any woman was pregnant, they would be sitting and knitting some sort of baby accoutrement when their husband walked through the door. Then the husband, seeing the knitting, would have his eyes bug out of his head and pass out.
While I was saved the whole to do of the Mister’s eyes bugging out of his head (this is his FOURTH kid after all, you’d think he’d be used to it), I did finally do what it was I even learned knitting for….

I knit something for my Bean in the oven (yes, I know its Bun, but we decided to call it Beans while it’s in there… remember?).

If you recall a bit ago I posted about how and why I learned to knit, involving a pregnancy (Sam) and a revoloution that would happen someday. While I started the whole business of knitting to make by yet unborn baby some clothing, it never ever happened. Sure, I’ve knit stuff for the kids- mostly toys- yet I never ever did do the very thing I bothered to learn knitting for. I know, am I lame or what? So, I sat down and decided that since Beans will be our last (and you better BELIEVE ME when I say last) that I should end my baby bearing career by actually ponying up that little knitted something for the fruit of my loins to wear. Its 2007, a new year, our last baby, I better get knitting.

And get knitting I did……

Mind you, I haven’t had the middle of the pregnancy sonogram where they can tell you what sex it is (and oh yes, we find out in this family- especially since there are many hopes on me by the inlaws that its a girl), I did however just go with my gut, and my gut said…………………………pink.Pink…..pink….pink….pink. I have yet to add buttons, I have to find some I really like that will work first. So project details….oooooooo……

Pattern
: Quickie Baby Sweater

Yarn
: I’m not sure, but I think it was Bernat Softee Chunky whatsit. Something acrylic, but soft

Needles
: The pattern called for US10.5 of which I have none, so I used US10 instead. I know this will make it smaller, it turned out a size that my other kids could have worn from birth into their 6th month or so. The pattern just says 10.5, but it doesn’t tell you if its straights, circulars, DPNs, or pinky toes. It makes a vague reference in parenthesis on the second page of the pattern to a circular needle and that’s it. In truth, I ended up using every US10 needle I own…. circular, 14″ straights, 10″ straights…. I even toyed with the idea of trying to see if I owned US10 DPNs because I would most likely end up needing them as well.

Notes
: It says in the pattern notes that it takes about 4-5 hours to make…. this is a lie. I was knitting fast and hard and I think maybe I got it in 9 or 10… maybe. Its a pretty easy pattern, until row 32 where it gets kinda fiddley (and is also where I ended up using every US 10 needle I own). It shows buttons in the picture, but there are no button holes- you’re supposed to push the buttons through the garter stitch edge. The pattern pic’s sleeves looked funky to me, I can’t explain how or why- it just did (maybe they aren’t girly poofy enough?). So on the sleeves, in the pattern where it says work in St st for 16 rows, after row 3 of the St st on row 4 I increased (kfb) the first 2 stitches and the last 2 stitches and worked everything else the same (ignoring the stitch count). I ended up knitting most of it on the 14″ straights, using the 10″ straights for the sleeves, and the circular needle really as more as a giant stitch holder since its easier to move stitches around on. It was the first time I did a picot edge and I kinda dug it. As well, the pattern prints out on 2 sheets and I put them in little page protector sleeves…. I wrote the directions for rows 5, 8, and 9 on the bottom of the second sheet because in directions on the 2nd sheet is just says things like “Same as row 5”- and I HATE flipping through patterns back and forth.

In any case, it wasn’t terrible (except for row 32) and I may very well make Knitty’s Baby Tart to go with it. The Bernat Softee Chunky made it turn out kinda thick and heavy, which is cool since Beans is due to come around midJuly- I now have a little something to slip on Beans on one of those cool nights…… unless of course Beans surprises me utterly (fooling my instincts and whatnots) and comes out a boy……. then it may get gifted or sold. I, however, have a hefty feeling that the sweater will stay around. I’m just saying.

5 Comments

  1. Stepherz said,

    January 16, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    Yayyy, Steph! Pink knitting! I have a gut feeling it’s a girl too! I CAN’T wait to hear.

  2. Vaguely Urban said,

    January 17, 2007 at 2:31 am

    Hey, if that pink delightfulness is the result, you go right ahead and rock that cliche!

  3. Kelley said,

    January 18, 2007 at 10:27 am

    Absolutely adorable!

    Are you going to wait until the Bean is born to learn the gender? That will be such an amazing surprise! I don’t know if I could handle the suspense, though!

  4. Stephieface said,

    January 18, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    LOL! No way, we find out in this family, long before the baby is born. Frankly, the suspense would kill me and those who want to buy stuff for the baby would too!
    And well, if my gut is right and it IS a girl, I surely need the heads up to stock up on girl things… I only have boy stuff!

  5. Rachel said,

    January 18, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    O I will send you lots of girly vibes. After having 2 boys and there hasnt been a girl in my husbands fam for 4 generations, we finally had our girl in 2005…and her nickname was Bean while I was preg with her…and we STILL call her Bean.

    I *JUST* knew it was a girl and NO ONE believed me.

    Im glad your finding out…I couldnt stand it either.


Leave a Reply

