Stuff… and a Pattern! Woot!

First off, the Pattern…. (inspired by the Bunny Blanket Buddy from Lion Brand which I thought would make a kick ass dishcloth/facecloth/washcloth/whatever)Stephieface’s Super Simple Scrubby Scrap

(man, I love me some alliteration)

Materials:
Cotton Yarn, I used Peaches & Cream in the Daisy Ombre
US10 Straight Needles

Skills Required:
Casting On (CO)
Increases by knitting into front and back of stitch (Kfb)
Yarn overs (YO)
Decreases by knitting two stitches together (K2tog)
Binding Off (BO)

Pattern:

Cast On 1 stitch

Rows 1 – 6: Knit into the front and the back of the very first stitch, then knit the remaining stitches to the end of the row. You will have 7 stitches at the end of Row 6

Rows 7 – 39: Knit 3, YO, knit the remaining stitches to the end of the row. You will have 40 stitches at the end of Row 39

Rows 40 – 73: Knit 2, K2tog, YO, K2tog, then knit the remaining stitches to the end of the row. Continue until you 7 stitches remaining

Rows 74 – 80: K2tog, then knit remaining stitches. Continue this until 1 stitch remains

Cut yarn, then Bind Off by pulling yarn tail through last remaining stitch. Weave in your two yarn ends. Options: You can weave a ribbon through the eyelet holes created by the Yarn Overs or leave as is.

The S5 (above) took only a couple of hours, and that was a couple hours of me knitting, then setting it down and forgetting where I put it, watching Stargate(s), then remembering I was knitting, looking for it, finding it, knitting on it some more, then repeating. Your time may vary depending on your power of forgetfulness.
Speaking of Stargate(s)….. I have a guilty pleasure… I watch Stargate Atlantis for this guy…. Its not who you think…….Its the Scottish Doctor. I could listen to him talk nonsense medical jargon all day… and in fact, I did. He’s like the average man Gerard Butler….. nice.

Anywho, I was thinking recently that meme I last filled out was interesting. It was the 6 Weird Things Meme that I was tagged by pinsandneedles for. Then it got me to thinking, I’m not just weird now, I’ve always had weird things. Then I got to really thinking, and I wondered about the weird things I did as a kid and why. I mean… now you know why you did stuff then… right? So, same rules, 6 Weird Things You Did As A Kid and Why…….. I’ll start, I’m not afraid……. anymore ……….

1. I used to align myself to sleep in the exact middle of my bed which was the top bunk. I would spend forever getting just right so that if my little sister in the bottom bunk turmed into a tentacled monster… she couldn’t reach me with her tentacles and pull me to my death.

2. I had a blankie til I was ohhhhhhh 14 (shut up). BUT, when I was a kid I would fold my blanket up into a long rectangle, then place it over my neck so that it looked pretty much like a teddy bear patterned neck brace. I then slept with my head under the pillow. Why? So that if a monster looked into my bed it would appear as if there was no kid there (nevermind that kid shaped lump beneath the covers, right?). But if the monsters weren’t fooled by the pillow trick… at least I was safe from vampires… because my neck was covered by the blankie.

3. I would make this amazing leap from the bunk bed ladder to the doorway (going up and down) because, very much like #1 I wanted to avoid being dragged to my death by my little sister who was surely a tentacle monster in disguise.

4. When walking to school I would streak across the front lawn avoiding the bushes right in front of my house…..because I was certain that something evil resided in there- most likely a werewolf. I even used to secretly carry a flashlight in my backpack that I would whip out on the front porch, and shine into the hollow of the bushes. Hopefully the C battery powered beam was strong enough to keep the growling snarling vicious drool dripping werewolf at bay until I could run to the safety of the sidewalk- 15 feet away. As I ran past, I know I heard it start to come after me and I would tear off like my ass was on fire. Truth be told, I did this until 8th grade, where I finally looked behind me and saw that I was indeed being chased by a growling snarling vicious drool dripping….. possum…. which chased me to the complex’s parking lot and a bit beyond. I was still wary of the bushes for a long time after that, but I was somewhat comforted by the fact that should it come back out I could attempt to beat it to death with my Social Studies book.

5. I disliked sleeping on the floor at my Grandma’s house becuase I was sure evil demonic mice that lived beneath the couch would get me…… because I was certain I could see the sulphurous glowing of their infernal eyes under there. I hated going into the basement by the steps because I was certain that something beneath the steps would grab my foot between the slats of the step. And I left the bathroom door cracked open to make a quick and hasty retreat after I went so that the things right outside the bathroom window couldn’t get me….. unbeknowest to me at the time, it was simple accoustics that I was hearing, and not a slavering pack of monstorous hillbeasts outside the almost always open window.

6. After having read numbers 1-5…. know this….. my parents never allowed me to watch scary movies or shows. All that scary stuff I got on my own.

So there you go, if you want to be tagged consider yourself so.

7 Comments

  1. ~Donna~ said,

    January 14, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    I like your taste in men. I find Scottish men totally drool inducing.

    And I NEVER EVER let my hands and feet hang over my bed ’cause the evil monster under there would get it…

  2. Stepherz said,

    January 14, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    I had monsters at my grandma’s house and they were always chasing me up the stairs after I turned the kitchen light off. I had to make it to the top of the stairs and turn the light on to make them go away. Shew, they never got me. Long legs were good for something; I now know. If I’d had short legs, they surely would have caught me. I swear I flew up 3 steps at a time with my butt tucked in just in case they tried to nip.

  3. Gina - Liam's Mom said,

    January 15, 2007 at 2:02 am

    We had a similar childhood it seems! Very nostalgic list for me. I had the same monsters following me up stairs until… well just a couple years ago.

    As a kid in the hot summers, I HAD to have my feet covered even though I was so warm… the covering on my feet protected me from snakes. I didn’t like to kneel to say my prayers by my bed because there were alligators under my bed. So I always said my prayers in bed.

    I always had to hide behind a secondary source when getting dressed in my room as a kid. Because there certainly were spies watching me through the blinds.

    The list goes on. We need to start a meme on just freaky childhood behaviors.

  4. sunneshine said,

    January 15, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    Oh, I love your list! I did a lot of the same things as a kid. I always ran up the stairs at top speed because I was sure there were monsters (like in the scooby doo cartoons) who would catch me if I was too slow. And no stuffed animals on my bed, because they could morph into monsters in the middle of the night!!
    Makes me giggle to think about it now!

    And your dish/face/cloth-thingie is also a childhood throwback – that is what I learned to knit when I was 9. And for years it was the only thing I knew how to make!

  5. Sachi said,

    January 15, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    You know, I’ve resisted buying Daisy but OMG it’s gorgeous all knitted up, isn’t it? It reminds me of caramel…

  6. pinsandneedles said,

    January 16, 2007 at 10:43 am

    That list was great! I don’t know if I can relate to most of the monster stories, but once my brother told me that if I get up to go pee in the middle of the night and then flush the toilet, the toilet monster would come out of the toilet if you dont leave the bathroom soon enough. So, for the longest time, I would pee and flush and run right out of the bathroom. Then I finally got over it.

  7. Chelsea said,

    April 4, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    Found you through Crafster. thanks for the dishcloth pattern. I need some washcloth patterns for a friend’s baby shower. I will probably be knitting this washcloth while watching Stargate this weekend. They do have nice collection of hot guys. His accent is adorable!


Leave a Reply

