I Prefer a 10in Shaft

I wish I could see my mother’s face when she reads that title…… hehehehehe…….

Anyways, it is true, I do prefer a 10in shaft….. on my knitting needles that is. I’ve snagged up as many 10″ knitting needle sets that I can find (which honestly aren’t that many in the stores I frequent) because for me I don’t need anything else. The 14″ straights are too long, and I end up snagging them on things as I knit. Or I end up sitting all weirdly akimbo to accomadate for the non snuggle friendly length of the 14’s. So, most of my straight knitting gets done on the 10 inchers (my favorites) or my DPNs. Finding 10″ long needles that won’t set me back a fortune is a problem, and there has been more than a few times when I bandied about the idea to buy the plastic kids’ set that comes with several sizes for $10 or so. Like even the 9″ bamboo set where you get sizes 8 all the way up to 15 for $28 is still not really my thing… because both the plastic and the bamboo aren’t aluminum and aluminum needles are really what I prefer. I like the heavy metal 10in shaft (not that aluminum is heavy metal, but you use what you can work with, I don’t think I can beat Donnaz love for balls. Go ahead and click it, you know you want to).

After reading Donnaz post, I wonder, how many people have named their ball winders? Mine is named Caitho (which means eater in gaelic, see here for why) and she named hers Hugo. Fess up, anyone else name their knitting tools?

7 Comments

  1. ~Donna~ said,

    January 8, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    I prefer circulars. Get a nice circumference. Great for snuggling and public places. hahahaha

    LOVE the title!

    Hugo for “Maker of huge balls.”

    I really must stop this…

  2. Sachi said,

    January 8, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    You’re so naughty. 🙂 Funny story for you… My first husband’s name was Tom. As you likely know, a drum kit is made up of a snare, bass, cymbols and tom toms. A friend of ours was discussing how he was going to add to his drum kit and commented that he might just go for a 10″ tom. Of course, my darling husband advised that ‘ 10″ Tom ‘ was his nickname.

    (No, it wasn’t.)

  3. Zeeppo said,

    January 9, 2007 at 12:56 am

    I am so not going to commant here

  4. Donna said,

    January 9, 2007 at 9:33 am

    hehe! I name just about everything, but I have not named my knitting tools yet. Hmmmm. Plus I like to use circs as well. If I can’t have cirs, the shorter the needle the better.

  5. Stepherz said,

    January 10, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    Haven’t named my needles anything. They are neglected in many ways.

    I did just notice that you are nearing your second trimester! Yayyy! I bet you are naming more than just your knitting tools! Baby names are far more fun!

  6. Kelley said,

    January 11, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    Ha! I thought you were about to get really revelatory… 😉

  7. pinsandneedles said,

    January 12, 2007 at 11:20 am

    I haven’t named my needles, but I do reach for them when I get scared at night when someone’s knocking on the door that I don’t know and I don’t have a knife nearby. Yeah, I used my aluminum straights as a weapon. I have circulars too, but they just don’t give that “I want to kill you” kind of feeling. My fav kind of needles are straight bamboos.

    BTW, you guys are dirty and its great!


Leave a Reply

