The Wheels On The Bus Go Round and Round…. And Afterthought Updates

So, a few posts ago, I mention how I am participating in the Craftster sponsored Terry Pratchett’s Discworld: Hogfather Swap. And although interrupted by that thing called Halloween, I have jumped head first (Do you know how many times I typed ‘Dived’ and it gave me the shivers?) and really started to get to.
I already know one thing I am going to make, as my partner asked for it specifically (teeming with glee it appeared, that she scored the partner who wrote the DEATH of Rats Knitted Toy Pattern). I was trying to decide what the other items would be that I would be making. Here is what is required:
“…We will be crafting at least 2 medium items, and I would suggest throwing in 2 or more small crafted/non-crafted items (although this is up for discussion with your partner)…”

In some ways its better than some of the other swaps I have been in, in that those swaps required at least 1 large item, a medium item, and some small items. On the Craftster site, the size of the item is directly relative to the amount of hours it took to make (and try as I might, I can’t find the link to the post where I saw that). What is funny is that for me, pretty much every item is a large or biggish medium item (if we go by shear number of hours). I don’t mind though, I pretty much threw that post out of my head at the very get go of my swapping career, favoring my own complexity based scale. Basically, it determines the size of the item by how involved the it is in the making for me. The more involved, the bigger the item. So, it sort of accomodates for the things I make (since I knit for alot of the swaps), that although may take many hours in knitting, because they are relatively easy are considered smaller items in comparison to something that I have to actually pay attention to or it will… I don’t know… explode. If in its making I cuss more than a sailor… it is a big item. The sliding cuss scale also works, if the number of hours scale doesn’t work for you either.

Ha! I found it! Took me forever but … Ha!
By Time
-Big=3 or more hours
-Medium=2 or more hours
-Little=2 or less hours

By Size
-Big=A shawl, a shirt, a skirt, a set of jewelry with four to five items, a purse
-Medium= one single necklace or bracelet, a scarf
-Small- Earrings, stickers, wallets, pouches, bookmarks

By Price
-Big= $30 or more
-Medium=$10-$30 dollars
-Small=$10 or less

But, again, most of these scales don’t work for me.

So anyways, this is what I have been up to presently (and it relates to all the above):This is the Knitted Lacy Round Cloth by Rhonda K. White. I plan on using the pattern on something for the swap, but I wanted to try out the pattern first. That’s a wee handy dandy ball of Sugar ‘n Cream Cotton from Walmart on size 8 needles (the pattern calls for size 7, but I enjoy throwing caution to the wind). I am doing that knitter’s thing where it looks like you won’t have enough yarn to finish, so you knit faster trying to beat it. As I have said many times before, I am a foolish mortal. The pattern itself is pretty easy, with each pattern repeat making 2 points, you make 18 points altogether. That’s how far I got in about 2.5 hours, so its a pretty speedy knit too. After the experiment, this baby is gonna be used as a facecloth for yours truly (since all of our washcloths have these weird colored marker fingerprints on them… which strangely enough are not from the Flying Diaperinis but their father and his gameroom).

You like that? Actual Knitting Content… Oh yeah…

ETA: So I finished the Knitted Lacy Round Cloth…
I’m actually missing a repeat, I only have 16 points and not 18…. but this is why:
This was all I had left when I got near the end, plus the bits I cut off after I wove in ends. I’m not sure if the Sugar ‘n Cream ball I started was brandy new or not, but if you get one of those $1.30 balls from Walmart, you have enough for at least a 16 point cloth. So there you go.

ETAA: I am a dork, the yarn I was using was Peaches ‘n Cream cotton, which I am not sure if its different than Sugar ‘n Cream, but there you go.

Last night, the inlaws called me up last minute and invited myself and the Flying Diaperinis to the circus (appropo with a name like the Flying Diaperinis), so four adults and 3 kids piled into my Father In Law’s SUV and headed off downtown to watch the Ringling Bros Barnum & Bailey Circus. I haven’t watched a circus since I was a kid, and the Ringling Bros circus really hasn’t changed much since- save that the Gunther Gable guy who was their animal trainer is no longer with them (instead there is a little latin man who shouts “Hay Sucar” at the completion of every trick with a tiger), and there were less dark moments. I think that people who are scared of circuses and circus related things (like clowns) were children when I was, and went to the circus where you sat in the dark, alot, with one lone spotlight on whatever was going on. And while the death defying was at a minimum (is it me or were they always chancing death back in the day?) it was still no less exciting.
They had a troupe of Mongolian acrobats at which Sam kept screaming “Ninjas!”, elephants at which TJ kept screaming “elafance!”, and Bello the clown at which Zach kept screaming “Bello!”. So as you can tell a good time was had by all.
They even had there a clown that made me think of Zeeppo, but getting a picture of him was hard.
A clown in a kilt.

5 Comments

  1. Sachi said,

    November 4, 2006 at 3:56 pm

    wowweeee!!! I’m soooo running out to get some cotton today.

  2. Stepherz said,

    November 4, 2006 at 7:18 pm

    Sooooo pretty. I love the pastel colors.

  3. Obsidian Kitten said,

    November 4, 2006 at 11:41 pm

    i swear, sugar’n cream is my new best friend. i just made my first dishrag (in blackrayne’s skilly pattern). then i went on to make two bibs and a lil’ matching spitrag for a baby shower gift (me, i don’t know from babies, but they came out cute, i used the pattern from the mason-dixon book)

    i rly want a t’shirt that has that Sugar’n Cream logo on it…

  4. Fyberduck said,

    November 5, 2006 at 6:51 am

    DEATH of Rats!!! (runs around squeeing)

  5. Kelley said,

    November 7, 2006 at 1:04 pm

    The Lacy Round Cloth is beautiful; seeing that kind of thing inspires me to learn to knit. I am so impressed by the number of bloggers who can knit, and I feel left out of the trend! It just seems too involved for my crafting capabilities. I do the occasional cross stitch, but that is much simpler.

    About a year ago, I went to Michael’s and I purchased one of those children’s “learn to crochet” kits. I figured that was the place to start, right? I was completely overwhelmed by the complexity of it all by about step 3 of the illustrated instructions. I’m waiting for my dignity to recover before I set foot in a craft store again!


Leave a Reply

