Halloweiners

So, last night (in case you were in a cave) was Halloween. Now, I have no idea about the outside world- but here in Pittsburgh neighborhoods choose when they will hold Halloween…. so some places Trick or Treated on Saturday, some Sunday, and then you have my inlaw’s neighborhood who are a bunch of purists… only the actual holiday will do. So last night (after a day of sewing up costumes in a last minute rush) we suited up the monkeys (all three) and headed out for a night of candy harvesting. Oh yes, we were quite a sight with two pirates and a mini parrot. Oh we were indeed a sight considering it rained.

Oh yes, it rained- and my kids are so hardcore they opted to Trick or Treat anyways knowing they would get soaked… and us their equally Halloween hardcore parents were totally okay with that, and totally willing to go along with them.

Maybe it was the rain, but there was a serious lack of porchlights on- there weren’t even any “help yourself” bowls on the porches. On the other hand, there weren’t that many Trick or Treaters out either, only the serious harvesters like ourselves were out and about. It was not uncommon for our little troop to reach a door, knock while Sam screams “trick or treat” at the top of his now 4-year-old lungs, someone answers, then reveals how we were the first or third people to be there the whole night. Mind you, trick or treating “night” was from 6pm-8pm.

Do you remember Halloween when you were a kid? When I was a kid it was an all night event, not “just barely longer than a movie”. It was not uncommon for there to still be kids out past 9, or for the most diehard 10. And we started at 5. Of course, this was in Manassas Virginia, where there are more than a hundred townhomes shoved in a 2 block area. That’s not counting the stand alone houses across the street. You hit your own complex first (that’s 44 houses for me, provided everyone had their porchlight on), then you hit the complex next door (13 or so townhomes [I’m guessing here since I can’t remember the exact number]), then you hit up the complex across the street from that (which has more townhomes than I can remember, well over 60 I think) and then checked the time when you got to the creek. If you still had time, you hit up the next complex of 20 or so townhouses across the creek where an old neighbor had moved to, crossed the street and hit 2 streets or so of that townhouse complex before you started to think it was getting late- but not until after you cajoled Jon Wingo into dumping the rest of his family’s give out bucket into your bag. Then you hauled home your loot.

This year, I think we may have hit….. 20 houses maybe? The payoff though, for trick or treating in the rain was insane…. we came home with a stuffed full 35 gallon trash bag of candy…. and that was after we sent home a portion with the stepmonkey, and after we paid off the third adult spotter with a good sized bag of booty. Not bad for a 20 house 2 hours if you ask me.

By the way, a parrot costume takes 8.5 hours to make
(including the beak hat missing from this picture)you know, just in case you were wondering.

I switched up the look for now so that Severina can read my site again.

5 Comments

  1. Fyberduck said,

    November 1, 2006 at 3:28 pm

    The parrrot costume is adorable! And, yes, I remember trick-or-treating until 10 or 11 pm when I was younger.

  2. Stephanie said,

    November 2, 2006 at 12:22 am

    Oh, so cute! It’s definitely worth 8.5 hours.

  3. Zeeppo said,

    November 3, 2006 at 12:49 am

    You didn’t stop by my house. I have like fifty pound of candy. I only got one kid. I had candy and Ballon Animals. I am truely sad. My favortie holiday ruined. I am still crying.

  4. Stephieface said,

    November 3, 2006 at 8:26 am

    Awwwww, we ToT in Brookline and Dormont where all the inlaws live, and the city did ToTing on Sunday. 😦
    Were the mister not in charge of the ToTing escapades we would have totally stopped at your house.

  5. Kelley said,

    November 3, 2006 at 12:24 pm

    You mean to tell us that you made the parrot costume yourself and you endured the rain? I nominate you for Mom of the Year!

    We’ve lived in an apartment for the past few years, and around Halloween I always feel so left out. I dream of the day we buy a house and get to enjoy a parade of adorable, costumed children at our door!


Leave a Reply

