Pumpkin Spice And Everything Nice

I love autumn, I really do. In fact, the Mister and I love autumn so much that if we were ever to have a girl she would be named Autumn. So when autumn rolls around, its like Christmas has come early. Its when the stores start carrying pumpkin scented things, and pumpkin pies are half off. Lately though it seems that everyone is on the pumpkin kick, imagine my surprise when I discovered this at my local grocery store (Southside Giant Eagle):

Its not too bad actually, if you can get past the color (if you have ever had children, you will know why the color is disturbing).

So while being disturbed by the color of my vegetable oil spread, I also began knitting mittens for the youngest who no longer fits in his mittens from last year. Here is the first, prethumb:As Severina has often stated, its mad hard to take photos of black knitted projects. The mittens have since grown a thumb and the second has been started. When I have them finished, I plan to duplicate stitch something on the back of the glove (non palm side), but I’m still debating on what it should be. Initials would be blah I think… oh well.

Its getting cold here in Pittsburgh, I need the heat on or I’ll freeze. Its a switch up from last year when Mario the Bulgarian Massuese lived downstairs since he had the heat on in September, and kept it as high as it would go all winter long. The third floor (which is our apartment’s second story) was 90* all winter long, sometimes more. Mine were the only kids in Pittsburgh to have heat rash in winter- no lie. My kids wore no clothes all winter long except to go places, and I ran around in my house in shorts and a tank top. This year though, will be different. Mario no longer lives downstairs, and the thermostat has been moved to our first floor. Already there is a vast difference between this year and last, we never let the dial go beyond 75 on a really cold night and that’s just to kick the heat so the Flying Diaperinis will go to sleep. I wouldn’t envy being Paul though, who is our new downstairs neighbor.

This Sunday will be Sam’s fourth birthday. The big 4!! Wow, its crazy how time sneaks up on you like that. Its odd, when Zach (my stepson) was four, the Mister and I started going out. Here we are now, Zach will be turning 10 in November, TJ just turned 2, and Sam will be turning 4. The math all adds up in fun ways- go ahead, play with it.
Can you imagine that this little booger is going to be 4 on Sunday? He’s getting more wiley too. To help him understand the passage of time, we’ve been marking off each day on the calender with a big to do and counting how many days left until his birthday. Would you believe he climbed up there while I was getting the mail and marked off the rest of this month’s days so his birthday would get here faster. “Look Mommy, today is my birthday!” …

…..if it were only that simple.

3 Comments

  1. Stepherz said,

    October 27, 2006 at 9:56 pm

    Sweet photo! It’s so darling how he marked the days off on the calendar. That’s a smart dude!

  2. Zeeppo said,

    October 27, 2006 at 10:47 pm

    Black Gloves. I always liked black gloves.

    And if there are knittting Stephanies are the Knitting Steven?

    Well anyway you won the Lance Laswon Sweepstakes gizmo. I know the excitement is overwhelming but I am sure you can deal with it.

  3. Stephieface said,

    October 27, 2006 at 11:52 pm

    Woohoo!! I won!

    Because the name Stephanie comes from the name Stephen you can join….err… I mean if your name were Steven that is. *looks around for the cyborg of Elizabeth Zimmerman*


Leave a Reply

