Thanks and Baby Ruth!

Thanks to everyone who responded. I have no idea what exactly happened, but for all of yesterday I couldn’t see my blog. By “couldn’t see my blog” I mean that there was nothing, just a white screen….. no writing, no links, no comments, nothing. I refreshed and cleared the cache, I even restarted the whole shebang holding a lucky penny and reciting “I do believe in fairies, I do, I do, I do”…. and I got squat. Whatever caused the issue is gone now, and I can thankfully once more see… well… myself. I suspect that Caitho may have been on the computer being mischievious- but you never know.

So yesterday, we reinstalled a Stephieface essential in our home……

We bought Goonies on DVD.

Oh yes, Goonies.
Really, how can I expect my kids to grow up and not know what the Truffle Shuffle, Pinches of Pow, and who Chester Copperpot is. These are important life lessons. It does also contain one of my first same age crushes, Sean Astin. I say same age, because before then I had a thing for older men apparently. But Sean Astin, Hobbit Extraordinaire…come on… who’s with me?

By the way, in case you actually wondered… I am way more fond of Sean Astin than I am of his brother Mackenzie. I also like that Sean is built like a person, and in general I like people built like persons.
My only hope though is that we do not have a replay of the last Great Goonies Snafu. The Great Goonies Snafu is priceless. The eldest monkey, when he first ever watched Goonies on VHS, decided to look for secret tunnels to treasure by cutting holes in our floor. I’m sure this would have worked out for him eventually since we live in the second floor.

The Mister brought home other films as well, that- because I did not choose them- I am sure are not going to teach our children life lessons. Does Independence day teach our children to follow maps? Nope. Does Starship Troopers show our children where they can successfully hide discovered pirate treasure so that Joe Pantoliano and Anne Ramsey can’t find it? Not at all. What can my children learn from the movies HE picks? Alien kicking and don’t say I Love You or you’ll get skewered by ginormous bugs. I mean really, his movies don’t even have slick shoes….. sheesh.

5 Comments

  1. Stepherz said,

    October 15, 2006 at 10:12 am

    I love the Goonies, but I actually really liked Starship Troopers too. Goonies is up there with the best movies of all time though.

  2. Lani said,

    October 15, 2006 at 11:20 am

    I love the Goonies…I have not seen it in years. It’s filmed in Asotria, Oregon. Great place…and I think Sean Astin is cute! I had a crush on him…back in the 80’s.

  3. Zeeppo said,

    October 15, 2006 at 9:21 pm

    Sean Astin never did anything for me.

  4. Vaguely Urban said,

    October 17, 2006 at 1:10 pm

    I was just remarking the other day to some friends that I must have seen the Goonies 100 times at least.

    Oh! You might actually be interested to know that I went to college with Sean Astin. (Post-Goonies/Rudy; Pre-LOTR) He and his wife were both English majors, and they took every. single. class. together. Adorable? Codependent? You make the call!

  5. Stephieface said,

    October 17, 2006 at 5:42 pm

    I say Adorably Codependent… or Codependently Adorable. 😀


Leave a Reply

