Bwaaaaaaa…… My Baby Is Getting Older!… and Newer ETAs

Tomorrow is TJ’s 2nd birthday….. doesn’t he look ready for it?

Though I am having some difficulty explaining to Sam that just because he’s first out of the car, and first in the door, and first to get butt wipings, and the first out the bath- does not necessarily mean that he gets the first birthday. Birthdays don’t work like that. Sam is three and this doesn’t gaurantee that he’ll accept that.

In other news, yesterday I received a package from Mama Grouch. I had entered in a contest she ran on her blog and took third place! Yesterday I received the prize… a sock creature!

Thank you Mamma Grouch and The Creep!!! (In case you can’t tell, the sock creature is the one in the middle)

A housewife with yarn is running a contest over at her blog, check it out and enter!

I have to start thinking of gifts for the youngster’s birthday tomorrow….. any bets that I’ll actually get something made by tomorrow?

ETA: On the salt note, we gave up on the substitute after one meal each. We have instead cut regular table salt with a buttload of Onion Powder and Garlic Powder. We may end up having stinky breath… but we will have cut our salt intake! I hope I meet some hippies soon…….
“Hhhhhhhhhhhhhhheyyyy What’s hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhappening Hhhhhhhhhhhhhhippies?”
One can only hope my breath can contend with the patchouli (ha!) ((this is funny because I dress like a hippie most of the time))

ETAA: I recently listed a new sock doll in my Etsy store, here she is….. (she also counts as knitting content gosh darnit because the Halloweiner gloves were already snatched from my grasp and replaced with a crisp $10 bill before I had time to take pics- seriously…. it happened during the Steeler game)


This chicky took about 15 hours of work, most of that time being devoted to her hair and wardrobe. See her wee knitted cardigan… that’s knitting content by gosh. I made all of her clothes by hand. What was the most time consuming of the two time consuming activities was her hair. First I crocheted a long chain and sewed that chain to her head, then I used the secured chain to anchor each hair strand…. a la latch hook….. because I wanted her hair to be partable and not traditional bald underneath homemade doll hair.

On a whim a while ago I ordered a skein (or three) of KnitPicks new Shamrock yarns. They lured me in with the Irishness of it all…. the yarn names, the colors………. which is ironic because the yarn is 100% Peruvian wool. On one hand the yarn is softer than their other 100% peruvian wool counterpart the Wool Of The Andes, on the other hand it may be just me but the yarn seems to unwind itself from its plying as I go to knit with it. Does that make sense? It knits up awesomely…. I’m loving the Kelley colorway…. I just have this subconcious urge to twist the yarn as I knit with it just to make sure.

4 Comments

  1. Stepherz said,

    September 9, 2006 at 9:28 am

    Your boys are just too cute! They do grow too fast. Embrace every little moment with them small. Seems suddenly my 11 year old was too cool for me and wanted nothing to do with holding hands when crossing parking lots or kissing mom goodbye when I drop him off at school. (Sniff, sniff)

    The doll is adorable! My daughter came running up to the computer when she saw a doll on the screen. I said, “Isn’t she pretty?” and Bella looked all happy and longingly at her, “Yeeeeeeeessss!”

    I looked for a link to your etsy store and couldn’t find it. It’s probably right under my nose. Can I get the address from you?

  2. Stephieface said,

    September 9, 2006 at 10:03 am

    Sure enough-
    http://stephieface.etsy.com

    Its the sheep button in the sidebar 😉

  3. Stephieface said,

    September 9, 2006 at 10:05 am

    If my sidebar was behaving that is

  4. Steel City Knitter said,

    September 9, 2006 at 3:07 pm

    What cuties! Happy 2nd birthday!


Leave a Reply

