A Grand And Triumphant Return!!!

I have safely made it back from the wilds of West Pennsylginia, without being violated by backwoodsmen and men who request that I squeal like a piggy. The fear was there though.

I ended up in a place called Deep Creek Maryland, which was nice even though I doubt the validity of its claims of deep creeks. I did get to see the BIG FREAKING LAKE. Why it isn’t called BIG FREAKING LAKE Maryland is beyond me…. but were it called that I would most certainly buy a souvenir. One of my favoritest things? Passing through Accident, Maryland. Its a real place! We sat around for a good bit trying to divine the origin of the town name….. I guess we’ll never know. In any case, we all settled in for a nice stay in a cabin deep in the woods on the lake front. It was nice, even the ant infestation of my room at the beginning of the trip was not enough of a deterrant to keep my enjoyment away.
We also went to Swallow Falls (a name at which I snickered almost constantly) and walked the trails there. It was beautiful as we found three waterfalls and several more smaller waterfells (not a typo, waterfells thankyouverymuch…. just small enough that the water has no time to contemplate its falling).

Pictures will be forthcoming, so watch this space.

Here are some pics of my trip to West Pennsylginia….

This is the “cabin” we stayed in which is, by far, a billion times better than my own home…..

The cabin was lakefront with our own personal dock….

We had no boat, so we made due….

During our stay we visited Swallow Falls (insert snickering here). This is NOT Swallow Falls. I have no idea which of the falls we saw WAS Swallow Falls. This is Muddy Creek Falls. Odd bit of useless trivia… as you walk along the trail that follows the river these waterfalls and fells are on the water changes the direction in which it flows. Supposedly there is a bit where these two rivers meet, but we never saw it and I doubt its existance. So if freaky non natural rivers is your thing…. go to West Pennsylginia!

The Garrett County Fair was occuring during our visit, so naturally we went. I, the closet our group had to an actual redneck, was the tour guide of all things countryfied for my city in laws. I had to explain to them all the intricacies of a county fair, as well as the politics. One highlight of our fair adventure was watching my Sister In Law push a double stroller through the cow barn. The patrons of the county fair looked as if they were made up primarily of the stereotypes of men I have dated in the past, 50% redneck, 50% slacker no job having slobs. I think it was at this point that I thanked God I married my husband….. alot….. and often….. and a little extra just in case. My sister in law described the fair people as extras from the movie Wrong Turn. Now I have never seen this movie, but the best she could equate it to for me was the angry inbred episode of X-files- I think she may have exaggerated a tiny bit. In any case, we saw alot of animals and the kids rode alot of rides……


Sadly, we were unable to throw a ping pong ball into the glass to win a fish that I was assured by Sam would have been named Charlie. There are more photos, but I’ll save you from drowning in saccharine laden kiddie photos. I did alot of knitting and I remade my swap partener’s hoodie. All in all the trip was awesome. Hopefully we’ll do it again next year and hubby can come along this time so I can just lock myself in my room and knit while my inlaws slide trays of food under the door to insure I live.

My favoritest picture from my trip?

The air was indeed thick with Hot Flying Popcorn, the little buggers swarm you every chance they got. Lucky for me that I carry a can of Hot Flying Popcorn repellant in my purse because nothing is worse than Hot Flying Popcorn flapping in your hair…. its true.

8 Comments

  1. Stepherz said,

    August 19, 2006 at 12:29 pm

    I love waterfalls. Waterfells are pretty groovy too! Good word!

    Looking forward to the pics!

  2. msfortuknit said,

    August 19, 2006 at 4:07 pm

    thats quite the name…

    PS Glad you survived the mountain people.

  3. Severina said,

    August 21, 2006 at 9:48 am

    I managed to survive my recent familial trip to the Land of Kudzu. Of course I didn’t get any pictures of that, dammit.

    My boss’s husband (a city boy) once asked me if the area where I grew up was “scenic” and I said there was only a fine line between “scenic” and “Deliverance“.

  4. Stephieface said,

    August 21, 2006 at 12:09 pm

    For most people I associate with here in Pittsburgh, they define that I am a redneck for one simple reason only.
    Is it country music (which I don’t listen to btw)? Nope.
    Fried chicken and collard greens? Na.
    Perhaps its an instinctual affinity for overalls? Try again.
    It’s because I was born south of the Mason Dixon Line.

    My verification word is numgly… I must use this for something.

  5. Mama Grouch said,

    August 21, 2006 at 9:57 pm

    heh…hot flying popcorn.

  6. Severina said,

    August 22, 2006 at 9:50 pm

    I’m feeling a mite numgly. How about you?

    Alexandria is barely south of the Mason-Dixon line, so they’re rednecks? Heh! That might knock some Northern VA people off their little high horses. Go to the NoVA Ikea and see if somebody doesn’t make you want to beat the living snot out of them with some cheap-ass furniture-in-a-box.

    Damn, that was uncalled for, wasn’t it?

  7. Stephieface said,

    August 23, 2006 at 9:09 am

    I don’t think it was, because when I lived there in my teenager years I totally would have beaten people with cheap furniture- if it didn’t require two people to move every box.

  8. Vaguely Urban said,

    August 23, 2006 at 12:56 pm

    If I could wade straight into that lake through my computer, I would. Work clothes and all. It’s gorgeoso!


Leave a Reply

