Mr. Pillowpants the Tunnel Troll

So last night, free of the house and children in an auspicious miscommunication with the in laws (I had asked for the monkeys to be watched for a few hours and they had thought I asked for the monkeys to be kept overnight) the Mister and I decided to go catch a flick……. together. I know! Nuts right? I honestly cannot remember the last film we saw together at the same time… it may have been Hitch.
Last night the Mister and I went and saw…… Clerks II.

It was….. in a word…… HILARIOUS. I AM going to own this when it comes out on DVD. It was worth it for Mr. Pillowpants the Tunnel Troll alone…. seriously.

Now, as my kids are still at my inlaws I have no idea why I am awake right now. I could very well have happily slept in, not having any miniature speed bumps in the bed to keep me from rolling over or having covers…. but yet, here I am.

There isn’t going to be a whole lot of current project posting since I’ve been making stuff for a swap…. the Pimp My Craftster Username Swap. All I can say is that I am insuring that my partner gets useable stuff.

So… I have also been considering joining a Knitting group here in Pittsburgh. Yup, you see that correctly as considering and not having done so. Here is where in today’s post I discuss why I am so lame. World Wide Knit In Public Day was proof of how nervous the idea makes me. I was terrified. I will not talk about how knitters are solitary creatures in the wild and blah blah blah. I am saying now, I never leave my house voluntarily. If I had the extra income to have groceries delivered to my home, new in theatre movies played in my livingroom, the yarn fairy made frequent visits, and a neighborhood where online purchased clothes wouldn’t be stolen off my porch I would never ever leave my house. So, the idea of leaving my comfort zone of homeness to go out and be with people I don’t know is terrifying. Am I a giant chicken? Yes! Does the idea of socializing with complete strangers strike me with such intense fear that I could upchuck? Hell yes! Should I get out of the house? Possibly. Will I do it? Maybe. I’ll commit to nothing.

I watched the Libertine the other night…… NOT a knitting movie…… NOT a movie for monkeys of any age regardless if they are too young to remember it… NOT a movie you watch with someone of the opposite sex in the early stages of relationshiphood. The movie itself was okay. The Prologue was awesome…. I watched that and I was like, “Hell yeah! This movie is going to be kick ass!” and then I watched the movie. It started out really good but about halfway through it started to drop and the end was confusing if not depressing. You were left saying “Huh? What? But Why?”. At the end they don’t tell you important stuff, like why the actress suddenly spurned him in a 180 type turn, what the hell was wrong with him, and what happened in 6 months that he went from Johnny Depp hotness to notness. The back of the box says:
“… At the depths of ruin, the rebel seeks redemption on his own terms….”
Yeah… not really. BUT they do adequately portray the time with none of the romanticisms… it was dirty, disgusting, and ooky…. so there is that. Maybe my answers lie in the deleted scenes. I didn’t like anyone in this film, something I think should happen to keep an audience enthralled and interested. I think the movie was lost to me in the park scene…. I mean come on….. Mass Naked Writhing 70’s Orgy in the Park On a Tree. Where’s Mr Pillowpants the Tunnel Troll when you need him?

3 Comments

  1. Amy said,

    July 27, 2006 at 4:52 pm

    I need to see Clerks II. I’m bad about leaving the house too, so you have company for sure. I know I need to if I’m going to refresh my batch of friendships, and just for a change of scene, bcause the old friends are starting to wear thin, just a touch. There’s a couple of SnBs around here, but I don’t know if they fit in with the night classes..let’s hope I get social again, one day.

  2. Stepherz said,

    July 29, 2006 at 10:42 am

    I can’t wait to see Clerks! I’ll have to wait for dvd, and that totally bums me out! Must be nice to have a date night with hubby!

  3. Stephanie said,

    July 30, 2006 at 11:55 pm

    Thank goodness we’re over 21 and have peed out Mr. Pillowpants.

    That kid made the movie. MADE it.


Leave a Reply

