To Hell And Back Again… A Midget’s Tale


So, earlier this week I received a letter of import. You know know its a letter of import because there are already grease stains on it (Murphy’s Law of Important Documents: you will ALWAYS spill something on it). If you have read this blog long enough (or are really bored and read all the past posts) you may recall that in January I had to take TJ, the Littlest Monkey, to a neurosurgeon at Children’s Hospital because his head is decidely acorn shaped…. or really he has a triangle head complete with edges and corners…. I swear to God, the picture doesn’t show it well but there are honestly edges on his dome piece.
Visit one mainly consisted of me and TJ sitting in a room filled with children with different and obviously worse head shapes. While this might sound entirely narcisstic on my part, there is cause for worry. Some head shape deformities come from the skull fusing together too soon and too badly. Some children require surgery, some require special skull shaping helmets, and some need nothing at all. Our very liberal friend Ben went to this same surgeon when he was a tot for whatever reason he went to him for and Ben is completely healthy in a totally alive and kicking way. So I’m not too scared. The surgeon looked TJ over and said that he should be fine and nothing extra would be required. He advised that I should return back with him for a check up just to make sure.
What has me worried is that, at least to me and the Mister, TJ’s head has gotten flatter and more triangular rather than rounding itself out. So, although my appointment is not until Monday, I have reflooded with every worry I held before the first visit. In any case, rather than sit around and worry myself sick about things I have no control over…… I shall speak on other things.

Yesterday I made my very first Etsy sale! I was starting to worry for a bit that I may never make one at all and the whole shop idea was an excercise in futility. I was advised by some other Craftsters that I should charge more for my stuff (they thought my prices were ridiculously low), but then again I know that the Etsy shop is more or less funding whatever I may want to do for enjoyment (like buying more yarn) rather than paying for a new car. I also know that a good portion of my customers will be poor college students… why on earth would I price things so that the people who would buy them won’t be able to afford them? I’m all for earning some income and doing slightly better than breaking even, but everyone wants nice things they can afford…. even people who can’t afford to budget the Cartoon Network channel into their cable package. Here are some things that are in my shop ( or really here are all but one of the things I currently have in there). I carry a BOG purse everyday if you wondered. I do indeed use the very things I make.



Weeeee…. aren’t you proud?

4 Comments

  1. Stepherz said,

    July 13, 2006 at 5:06 pm

    Congrats on your first sell!

    I think his little noggin is perfect! He’s an adorable fella!

  2. Jenn said,

    July 13, 2006 at 10:53 pm

    Wooo, first sale!

    Erg, doctor appointments can be nerve-wracking, but I hope that it goes well.

  3. Starfish said,

    July 14, 2006 at 4:53 pm

    I was thinking of starting an etsy shop for stuff, how has it been so far?

  4. Stephieface said,

    July 14, 2006 at 6:52 pm

    Not bad, its relatively easy to set up and manage. The fees aren’t outrageous (.10 per listing and a extremely small percentage of your sale [like my $4 had a selling fee of .14]). The only thing you have to contend with is what to price your items at, and getting exposure. You have to advertise your store to get better and more sales like a real business. You’ll actually find that Etsy sellers make great Etsy customers… my first sale was to an Etsy seller.


Leave a Reply

