World Wide Knit In Public Day Eve

I’m slowly preparing and steeling myself up for the Pittsburgh WWKIPD. I can honestly say, with a little more honesty than I’d like, that I’m nervous about the whole thing. I’m nervous about meeting new people, I’m nervous about taking the public transit there (I check multiple times for correct fare in my pockets… I have mass transit OCD apparently), I’m nervous about the sunburn I may get in conjunction to the sunburn I already have, I’m nervous about if my knitting project will match my outfit, how much/less level of complication my WWKIPD project should be, etc.

I am, however, hoping that it will be a blast and I’ll get to meet new people who live in the ‘Burgh who knit. I know I hope to meet up with Amanda of Delicious Stitches who I already spoke with about it.

Heck I even prescouted the area where it is supposed to take place so I can see where best to sit and so I’ll know where to go tomorrow. Of course this was all guess work since the tell tale “red balloons” to look for were not in place……… But I got some chocolate covered strawberries anyway.

So, if you are in Pittsburgh or abouts, and you’re going to the Pittsburgh WWKIPD at the Point in Downtown….. I’ll be there. Look for me and say hi. I’ll be wearing a tan baseball cap with a ‘Steph‘ patch on it (I don’t have enough time to embroider a “Stephieface” one) and sitting on a dark blue picnic blanket I got for free at the GM tent just before you go under the bridge to the Point (hint, hint), most likely with a black purse with a blue and silver dragonfly pin on it. I may or may not have accessorized with 3 kids, a husband, and a visiting mother… who knows.

This will be me, when I see my big girl sisteren passing by in teeny made for smaller girls clothing… and since I will be downtown on a hot weekend day I will make this face often:

See you there!

3 Comments

  1. Severina said,

    June 10, 2006 at 4:18 pm

    I’ve been riding the bus twice a day for like 15 years and I still obsessively check my bus fare/tickets several times on the way to the stop, at the stop, and as I’m going up the stairs to drop it in the slot.

    Have fun at the WWKIPD and don’t get too sunburnt! Under my black ‘n’ purple hairdye I’m a redhead so the sun hates me big time. I’d be peeling like a snake in 20 minutes.

  2. Donna said,

    June 11, 2006 at 12:00 am

    Hi! It was nice to see and meet you today at the WWKIP day!

  3. Severina said,

    June 11, 2006 at 12:55 pm

    Hey Steph, here’s a spot to check out, if you haven’t seen it already.

    Go have a look and maybe post some of your stuff!

    http://knitgirls.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

