Do I Have To Be A Peasant To Wear A Peasant Top?

While I anxiously wait for Millik to receive her Swap package for the Terry Pratchett Discworld Swap II, I decided I would post what else I have made.

So after reading this post on Craftster I totally coveted some peasant tops for myself. So I started looking around for the pattern that Shakespear lists in her post, Simplicity 8741. Know now that I checked 3 JoAnn’s and 4 Walmarts and not one had it. So I checked the Simplicity website and the pattern is no longer listed as a current pattern, nor is it in the discontinued patterns section.

EEK

So being stubbourn as hell, I took a look around and was able to find it on Ebay in my size and uncut (which is a good thing btw) for a whopping 99centolas. Nice.

So, I got a sewing and voila`:



Totally dig on that gratuitous shot of peasant topped boobage…. Nice.

I really needed summery female shirts that weren’t t-shirts. For the love of all that is holy I own more t-shirts than any woman I know and most of them are men’s shirts- they aren’t very flattering or pretty, I’ll totally admit that. So I have these new additions to my wardrobe that are summery and pretty. I may make more as I totally love peasant tops, most likely a fetish garnered from too many years LARPing.

There is another pattern in the envelope for a sleeveless like peasant top that I may try today.

So if you can find the pattern, its an easy sew and it churns out a really pretty addition to your wardrobe.

Oh yeah, I forgot…. Arrrrrrrrr

My pirate name is:

Bloody Ethel Bonney

Every pirate lives for something different. For some, it’s the open sea. For others (the masochists), it’s the food. For you, it’s definitely the fighting. You can be a little bit unpredictable, but a pirate’s life is far from full of certainties, so that fits in pretty well. Arr!

Get your own pirate name from fidius.org.

1 Comment

  1. Severina said,

    May 26, 2006 at 8:20 pm

    Folkwear has some nice ethnic peasant blouse patterns.

    I have too many bad memories of 1970’s peasant tops I was forced to wear to church with matching peasant skirts… So the closest thing I have now are some off the shoulder Victorian chemises that I wear under corsets. Same general idea I guess, but with lots of fiddly stitching.


Leave a Reply

