I AM A Yarn Dominatrix

Don’t get me wrong, I do love wool…

Just sometimes it can be a little masochistic and submissive, it wants me to do things to it and take pictures… my yarn can be a floozy like that. So as mentioned I think yesterday or so, I came home with some sweatery goodness. I attacked the stripey sweater first because I wanted to get it out of the way… it was a 100% Lambswool GAP sweater in Blue/Navy/Tan. Here is the the sweater before

You see here a nice GAP sweater. I would have spared it had it not had those tan stripes. So with some patience I ended up with this later:

Missing from the second shot is the two skeins of blue I did first and were pretty much dry. Such a pretty way to hang up your shoes, right? What actually bothers me is the amount of shoes we own and never wear, as evidenced in the photo.

Once again its an operation that my children try to entangle themselves in constantly. It might be better had I a swift or something. Right now when I pull apart a sweater , the yarn gets wrapped around two nails hammered into a piece of wood, that was for whatever reason just sitting around my house, into skeins and tied off. Then this next part is when I yearn for a ball winder as I wind the yarn around my impromptu nostepinne made from a piece of PVC. Classy.

More sweater torture to follow.

2 Comments

  1. Stephanie said,

    May 18, 2006 at 9:11 am

    The shoes!! I love the shoes!!!!

  2. Severina said,

    May 18, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    I have got to get myself a swift–I make my skeins on a niddy-noddy but those are no good for putting washed & dried skeins back into balls.

    Check eBay for ball winders and swifts (use the Buy It Now feature). I just ordered a Royal winder last weekend and it was ten bucks cheaper than my usual fiber supplier, but it hasn’t gotten here yet.

    I was apparently much too stupid to get an umbrella swift from her at the same time. I suck.


Leave a Reply

