Bloggers You Should Check Out….and Quiz Post Filler

Curse you Stephanie! You lured me to your blog with promises of knitting content… and though you delivered you had a test on there that I had yet to take which will inevitably cause me to post the results here. See my virtual fist shaking? 😀

Severina should be doing homework, but was doing this instead.

Crazy Aunt Purl dishes on a new book she was sent to peruse.

And Wendy over at Knit and Tonic discusses many things…. but of you scroll down her useful discussion on Man Rules and her Dream Swatch pattern are awesome.

Here is the test that Stephanie caused me to take. (has anyone else noticed the insane amounts of knitting bloggers named Stephanie?)

You Belong in Dublin

Friendly and down to earth, you want to enjoy Europe without snobbery or pretensions.
You’re the perfect person to go wild on a pub crawl… or enjoy a quiet bike ride through the old part of town.
What European City Do You Belong In?

Ha! I’m so Irish that I can’t even fool the online quizzes anymore!

In other news I just returned from a very wet excursion into the wild unknown streets of Southside Pittsburgh (insert forboding thunderclap and bad organ music here). Southside on any average day is awesome…. Southside on a rainy day is a bit surreal. In any case, after a few errands… I totally avoided the used book store because…well… its small and I had both little boys with me and really if you do the math, that just spells disaster… though I really wanted to see if they had a used knitting stitch encyclopedia or something. Instead I went to Goodwill.

Oh Goodwill, you trollop of deals and secret finds…. you floozy that you not only deliver your bounty to me but to others as well…..
Goodwill had no knitting books, but should I desire to crosstitch something for or create innumerable amounts of Christmas crafts from junk I know right where to go.
I did however, negotiate happily their sweater sections, of yes… that’s right…. sectionS…. meaning more than one (insert evil maniacal crafty laugh here). And came home with a secret stash of sweaters.
There is an all cotton GAP raglan sweater that will be spared as I love raglan tshirts (otherwise known as baseball jerseys to other people) so this light sweater with its light blue and contrasting navy blue sleeves and collar will actually join my wardrobe as is. The others however are not so lucky.
I don’t know, there is something overtly satisfying about going to Goodwill, going through the sweaters and checking seams, buying one, taking it home, cutting the seams, unravelling the sweater’s pieces and balling up the yarn to knit into something else. I don’t know what it is. Its kinda weird. Its like extreme recycling. Maybe its the high I receive from acquring mad amounts of silk or merino for $4.00 total rather than $40. Even buying from KnitPicks is not as affordable as ripping apart a Goodwill sweater. Considering I never knit anything bigger than my head… I’m set. Sure, there are tons of Acrylic sweaters there… but let’s face it, if I want Acrylic I can just go to Walmart. Today I came home with:
100% Lambswool GAP sweater in Blue/Navy/Tan
100% Lambswool Perry Ellis Sweater in a Maroony/Grey
100% Shetland Structure Sweater in Charcoal
100% Cotton Craft&Barrow Sweater in a Greyish/Brownish/Backish varigated yarn

Pictures to follow when I’ve decimated their sweater integrity.

2 Comments

  1. Stephanie said,

    May 16, 2006 at 4:39 pm

    The Stephanies are overtaking the blogosphere….

    Or something…

    I suddenly have this urge to go to Goodwill. Must. Check. Seams.

  2. Severina said,

    May 18, 2006 at 6:53 pm

    My mother gave me an old cardigan of hers at Christmas and I’ve ruthlessly unravelled quite a bit of it. I’m considering knitting a fine-gauge camisole thingy with it on my knitting machine.

    I also found a dark grey angora-wool blend turtleneck at the Goodwill that I haven’t gotten around to undoing yet. I suspect that it’ll be hell to pull apart.


Leave a Reply

